School holiday dates & Public Holidays – all states of Australia & NZ

Dates of School Holidays, School Term, Public Holidays

Each state of Australia sets their own school term and holiday dates – which can be very confusing when travelling interstate. Until the end of 2012, Tasmania had 3 terms per year. From 2013, all states have 4 terms (2 semesters) per year with a mid-semester break.

We include school holiday dates on each city what’s on pages (click on state links below), but also here are links to official government sites where you can double-check all dates. In some cases, school teachers return to school one or two days earlier than students.

You can follow the links below to official government sites providing school and other holiday dates.

Queensland School Holiday Dates

New South Wales Holiday Dates

Australian Capital Territory Holiday Dates

Victorian Holiday Dates

Tasmanian Holiday Dates

Tasmania has had 3 school terms each year. In 2013, they moved to 4 terms (2 semesters) per year like the other states. For more details see 4-Term-Flyer.pdf

South Australian Holiday Dates

Western Australian Holiday Dates

Northern Territory Holiday Dates

New Zealand Holiday Dates

More Information about Australia

See more: Australia

Comments on this entry are closed.

Book Holiday Accommodation

No Booking Fees
Guest Reviews
Immediate Confirmation
Pay when you stay
Australia and International

or see BCL sites for
Brisbane | Gold Coast
Sunshine Coast | Cairns
Sydney | Canberra | Melbourne
Adelaide | Perth | Hobart
Darwin | Australia
New Zealand

Looking for things to amuse the kids these school holidays?
See quality toys, brand name toys, toys for all ages from reputable Australian online retailers

Brisbane Hotel Map
Brisbane CBD Hotel Map
Queensland Regional Hotel Map

go to Adelaide Hotel Map
Adelaide Hotel Map

Perth Hotel Map
Perth Hotel Map

Canberra map
See our Canberra Map showing the different areas of Canberra.