Towns and places in Tasmania Australia

The state of Tasmania includes the main island of Tasmania, Bass Strait Islands and the far-south Macquarie Island.

Hobart & the South East

Tasmania's capital, Hobart, is in the south-east of the state. Nearby Port Arthur on the Tasman Peninsula was a harsh prison settlement for male convicts and is a popular tourist attraction. There are many small historic towns in this region including Ross, Richmond, Geeveston, Huonville as well as D'Entrecasteaux Channel and Bruny Island

Launceston & the North East

Launceston and George Town on the Tamar River are on the northern coast of Tasmania.  Launceston is Tasmania's second largest city and is approximately 200 km north of Hobart. Nearby towns include Gladstone, Longford, St Helens, Scamander, St Marys, Scottsdale and Evandale .

On the east coast and  the Freycinet Peninsula are Bicheno, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Swansea, Triabunna, Orford, Ross, Campbell Town and Oatlands. This area boasts of both coastal scenery and inland landscapes with gorges, waterfalls and forests.

Devonport & North Western Tasmania

Tasmania's north East includes Cradle Mountain, one of Tasmania's most popular attractions, Devonport, Burnie, Deloraine, Latrobe & Port Sorell, Middlesex Plains, Sheffield, Ulverstone, Penguin, Stanley, Westbury, Wilmot and Wynyard. Car and passenger ferries travel between Melbourne and Devonport – making Devonport a major entry point to Tasmania.

South Western Tasmania

The wilderness of south west of Tasmania are a popular destination for conservations and adventurers. Towns in the region are Queenstown, Strahan and Zeehan.

Categories: Hobart