Darling Downs, Queensland, Australia

The Darling Downs is a vast, fertile plateau on the western slopes of the Great Dividing Range. Road access from Brisbane is along the main highway to Picnic Point at Toowoomba or further west via the Cunningham Highway and through Cunningham's Gap.

Towns on the Darling Downs include Dalby, Pittsworth, Roma, Stanthorpe, and Warwick and Toowoomba.

The region was named after Ralph Darling (then Governor of New South Wales) by explorer, Allan Cunningham… and Cunningham's Gap and Highway were in turn named after Allan Cunningham.

Darling Downs Accommodation

Darling Downs School & Community Links

  • Local Councils: Dalby Town Council, Stanthorpe Shire Council, Warwick Shire Council, Roma Council, Toowoomba City Council


Categories: Queensland